Skip to content

A Completely Insincere Apology

March 10, 2011

“Could you teach us to play Sorry?” my niece, Amanda, pleaded. “I’ve heard about it, but I don’t know how to play.”

Grateful that she was asking about Sorry and not Monopoly, I settled myself on the living room floor with crossed legs and my other niece, Zoe, wiggling around in my lap.

Next in importance to winning for little girls is choosing the right color of game pieces; and when that significant decision was finally made, we dove into the game. Poor Amanda for the longest time made no progress at all. Her red game pieces were stuck in the Start Zone; and when she finally did get them into play, Zoe and I drew Sorry card after Sorry card and sent her right back to start.

Then, as so often happens in games, her luck and ours changed. Amanda drew the necessary ones and twos to “get out” and then began zooming around the game board. Every other draw seemed to yield a Sorry card for Amanda. With zero remorse in her voice, she’d scream “Sorry.”

Zoe twisted around in my lap and looked up into my face. “You might want to stay away from me cause I’m bringing you bad luck.”

“Sorry,” Amanda shouted.

Zoe giggled.

Despite my numb legs, which had fallen asleep within five minutes of my poor choice to sit on the floor, I was having fun. Amanda’s insincere sorries and the fact that she was a little hypocrite didn’t bother me in the least, but games are one thing.

At times I’ve nursed my disappointment when I realized that someone hadn’t been genuine with me. You’ve experienced these as well – times when you’ve been given a flippant apology; times when someone assured you they would help you, but when you really needed them they didn’t show up; or perhaps you’ve been offered material things, and you counted on them but they were never given to you. Indeed, these can be bitter pills to swallow.

James chapter 3 has a lot to say about the danger our boasting tongues can get us into; but fortunately, we have a heavenly Father who always keeps His promises. The chapter goes on to talk about wisdom and understanding. Verse 17 says, “But the wisdom that is from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, willing to yield, full of mercy and good fruits, without partiality and without hypocrisy.”

I know I’ve been guilty of insincerity; but if we are representatives of Christ, shouldn’t we make it our goal to be “without hypocrisy” at all times.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Cindy Sheridan permalink
    March 10, 2011 7:06 pm

    Wonderful encouragement. Thank you. Cindy.

Leave a Reply

